You are currently viewing Canada’s special rules for travelers who have been to certain African countries (Omicron variant)

Contrary to what everyone seems to think, Canada’s entry rules were really simple to understand. At least if you arrived from every country except two. But because of the new Omicron variant, 10 countries in Africa have been added to that list of special rules.

Here are the details.


Changes for 10 African countries

Here are the first 7 countries affected by the Government of Canada’s new rules:

  • South Africa 🇿🇦
  • Lesotho 🇱🇸
  • Eswatini 🇸🇿
  • Namibia 🇳🇦
  • Botswana 🇧🇼
  • Mozambique 🇲🇿
  • Zimbabwe 🇿🇼

(Ironically those are all countries where I went during my epic trip to Southern Africa in 2019.)

Now 3 more countries were added:

  • Egypt 🇪🇬
  • Nigeria 🇳🇬
  • Malawi 🇲🇼

The new rules apply only to those who have been to those 10 countries in the 14 days before entering Canada.

Here is an infographic if you prefer a visual format.

See full-size image or share on Facebook


Note that a temporary exemption has been added for those stuck in South Africa: You can do the test in South Africa, under certain conditions:

  • Do the test in the 48 hours before the scheduled departure time of the flight from South Africa
  • Do the test in an accredited lab (no details so… probably any lab)
  • Fly from Cape Town (CPE) or Johannesburg (JNB) to Frankfurt (FRA) on Lufthansa
  • Leave no later than December 13, 2021
  • Fly from Frankfurt to Canada on a direct Air Canada or Lufthansa flight

And here is the more detailed text version.


Changes for Canadian travelers

Here is what is changing for Canadian travelers (and foreign travelers with exemptions):

  • Molecular test must be completed in a transit country
  • Free arrival tests (on Day 1 and Day 8)
  • Free hotel quarantine while awaiting Day 1 results
  • Mandatory 14-day quarantine at home (whether the result is positive or negative)

If you’re Canadian, you’re still allowed to enter Canada, of course. There was never any rule to prevent Canadians from entering the country during the entire pandemic. There probably never will be either.

You do need to take your test in a country where you are transiting though. A test performed in one of the 10 countries on the list will not be accepted to enter Canada.

Direct flights between Canada and the initial 7 countries do not exist, so they could not suspend them. But Egypt was added and there are direct flights to there, it’s not yet clear whether they are suspended. We will update this soon.

This is not quite the same as the special testing rules for arrivals for India and Morocco, but it’s very similar.

But these special rules go much further.

The 14-day quarantine is the first time since July that fully vaccinated Canadians have to do that. That and the arrival tests are basically the rules that already apply to unvaccinated Canadians who arrive from anywhere.

Note that most other countries in the world have also added new similar travel restrictions, so that limits the options for transits for those arriving from Africa to make their way back to Canada.


Changes for foreign travelers (essential reasons)

Foreign citizens can still enter Canada if they have been to those countries, but only if they are coming for an essential reason.

The same special rules for Canadians above will apply.


Changes for foreign travelers (non-essential reasons)

Here is what is changing for foreigners traveling for non-essential reasons:

  • Entry into Canada is banned if they have been to those countries in the past 14 days

Foreign citizens who have been in these countries within the last 14 days can simply no longer enter Canada, even if they are fully vaccinated.

That is a first too (Indians and Moroccans can still enter Canada, as long as they follow the special testing rules).


Changes for travelers already arrived

Finally, those who have already arrived from those 10 countries in the past 14 days (Canadians or foreigners) must immediately get tested and isolate until they get a negative result.

So to be very clear, for those who have already arrived from these 10 countries in the last 14 days, after getting the negative result, the quarantine is over. Unlike the test on arrival for others who arrive from now on, who must do the 14 days of quarantine regardless of the result.


End date

Of course, no one knows how long this will last.

As with all of Canada’s COVID-19 travel rules since their inception, no end date has been mentioned and no objective criteria or datasets have been mentioned to know what the decisions will be based on.

Flytrippers is monitoring the situation closely to let you know if anything else changes.

We will of course always update our ultimate guide to travel during the pandemic.


Want to get all coronavirus updates for Canadian travelers?

Sign up for our free newsletter



The Government of Canada is adding a few countries to the list of countries with special entry rules, which was only composed of India and Morocco. Now 10 countries in Africa were added to the list, with the strictest special rules to date due to the new Omicron variant.

What would you like to know about these new rules? Tell us in the comments below.


See the deals we spot: Cheap flights

Explore awesome destinations: Travel inspiration

Learn pro tricks: Travel tips

Discover free travel: Travel rewards


Featured image: South Africa (photo credit: Hu Chen)

Advertiser Disclosure: In the interest of transparency, Flytrippers may receive a commission on links featured in this post, at no cost to you. Thank you for using our links to support us for free, we appreciate it! You allow us to keep finding the best travel deals for free and to keep offering interesting content for free. Since we care deeply about our mission to help travelers and our reputation and credibility prevail over everything, we will NEVER recommend a product or service that we do not believe in or that we do not use ourselves, and we will never give any third-party any control whatsoever on our content. For more information on our advertiser disclosure, click here.


Share this post to help us help more people travel more for less:

Andrew D'Amours

Andrew is the co-founder of Flytrippers. He is passionate about traveling the world but also, as a former management consultant, about the travel industry itself. He shares his experiences to help you save money on travel. As a very cost-conscious traveler, he loves finding deals and getting free travel thanks to travel rewards points... to help him visit every country in the world (current count: 71/193 Countries, 47/50 US States & 9/10 Canadian Provinces).

Leave a Reply